What Was My Day Off

Today was supposed to be my day off.  Yes, I actually had plans to get out of this house, head to town and do a little shopping….for myself. {gasp!}

How often do I shop for myself?  Oh, probably about once in every 4 or 5 years, it seems.

My closet is at its’ lowest point ever in my life.  Not that that’s such a bad thing, I’ve never really been a “fashionista”, but right now, I’m afraid, my family may nominate me for “What Not to Wear” at any given moment.

So…I actually got up today thinking I will take a shower and get ready then head into town to do something about it.

Then, I start to wonder what I can buy that won’t make me feel guilty.  This is part of my closet problem.  When I do shop, I have no problem finding what my kids need, however when it comes to things for me, well, I end up talking myself out of spending the money.  I’m such a penny pincher!  This is good AND bad.

So….back to my day….

I paid the bills, carefully planning my little shopping trip today and looking forward to guilt-free purchases.  Then we woke up this morning.

What was supposed to be our school-free day was already not.  The boys did not complete their assignments yesterday, so they were expected to do so today.  I had some hope that they would simply sit down at the table, check the list, and independently work while I prepared to leave.

That hope soon vanished as they snuck out to the trampoline, played with the grandbaby, turned on the Wii, and pretty much found any excuse they could to keep from doing their work.

So, “to the table”, I demanded, and now my shopping time must be spent watching them, pencils in hand, staying on task.

This is what happens in homeschooling.  It is a blessing and a curse, lol.  I love the lights in their eyes as they learn something new and interesting, but also I realize that it is a commitment by the whole family to stay on task.

We can either excuse the day and head to town, or we can be disciplined and obedient to the call.

This is the way it is.  Homeschooling is a job.  It takes work…and time.

There have been days where we have set the schedule aside for fun.  This day, however, is not one of them.

So I sit here, at the table, conversing and talking with my students as they complete their work.  Hopefully someday they will do it faster and I will be able to do something about my closet.

For now, however, my day off is still a day on.

1 Comment

Filed under Attitude, Blessings, Children, Commitment, Family, Home School, Homeschool, homeschooling, Job, Life, Obedience, Parenting, Priorities

One response to “What Was My Day Off

  1. I’m telling you, we need to take a day for just the two of us and go shopping. My closet sounds like yours, or yours sounds like mine…

    I was planning to run by the mall today on my one day off and browse the clothing racks. I talked myself out of it because I didn’t want to go by myself. But I can’t take the boys with me. I’d probably strangle them before I even got to look at the first price tag. And I don’t like taking Billy with me because I feel like he gets bored with all my looking. Also, I don’t trust the mirror to tell me what looks okay and what doesn’t. I see myself all the time and I’ve convinced myself I “don’t clean up good”, and I always pick apart the cute clothes I’ve tried on. It’s a little tight here, it doesn’t cover up enough of my bottom, the neckline is too low, etc. Then I wonder why I need anything cute in the first place since I stay home all the time anyway. I’m hyper-critical of myself. Oh, and I need to buy a new swimsuit before the end of May so I can go swimming when the pool opens. Mine is about 8 years old and it’s not holding together so well in places. Now I’m really depressed…

Leave a Reply

