Stuff is just Stuff

The above post is from a blog I’ve recently been reading.  Getting rid of “stuff” in our lives feels soooooo good — especially when you can pass it along to others!  With the recent moves we have made, I’ve had the opportunity to cull out the unused and unnecessary.  Passing clothes on to friends who will use them, or making a donation at the local Goodwill is just two ways we can all share the bountiful blessings God has provided.  To keep them when they aren’t even being used is just contrary to the life God has for us.

Look around you!  Is there something sitting in your closet that your neighbor or friend could benefit from?  Are there children you know that are just beneath the clothes and shoe sizes of your own?  Bless their parents with a commitment to pass down clothes each time your children grow out of them!  Help a single mother out with some furniture or unused appliances.  Trade in books, video games, and movies for a little extra cash to pay down your debts.  Host a garage sale and commit to use all the proceeds toward adoption costs for this family, or perhaps for another great cause.

When we take the time to declutter, the focus of our life turns back to God, His mission, and purposes.  Stuff is just stuff; people matter more.

Thinking Kids

Drowning in Stuff - Teaching Stewardship of Belongings - Danika Cooley at ThinkingKidsBlog.org

I’m just going to say it:  I’m a reformed hoarder.  I have owned more things in my lifetime than any woman my age has business owning in her lifetime.  In fact, in my younger years there was a nagging fear in the back of my mind that I might one day be buried somewhere under a pile of paper, old clothes, and strange kitchen appliances.  Thankfully, a few really brave friends stepped in to help before it was too late.  With their help, and some Scriptural perspective, I have overcome.  I no longer serve my stuff… it serves me.  At least, I think so.  There is the danger that I will look back at this post in four years and sadly shake my head, knowing that I had not yet mastered my own stewardship of belongings.  Actually, that’s a likelihood.  Thank God we keep growing!

View original post 623 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, Blessings, Children, Gifts, God, Life, Priorities, Stewardship

Leave a Reply

