How to Make Boys Cry…

photo_040709_012photo_040709_008…Give them a Barbie. lol

Yes, I gave my boys a Barbie.  One for each of them.

As you can tell, they were NOT happy.

The sinister side of me even allowed them to dwell in this state for a moment — or five.  I couldn’t help it!  Their reaction was priceless!

I knew that the Barbies were to be used for a school project, but in their minds, they could only envision torture.  Yes, pure. painful. torture.  The mere thought of even holding something pink sent them into such a tizzy.  My Dad would have been so proud, lol.

photo_040709_013The little one even tried to sneak a permanent marker, and began coloring across the packaging on his Barbie to purposefully cover up the sight of her!  He threw the package down, slid it across the floor, folded his arms across his chest, and proclaimed he would have NOTHING. TO. DO. WITH. IT!

photo_040709_0061Finally, the compassionate side of me kicked in, and I explained that we would be making mummies out of them, and wow, what a change on their faces! 

Now they were perfectly fine with it, lol! 

photo_041409_007Thoughts of “Barbie manipulation” danced in their heads.  They couldn’t wait to pretend to cut her open, take out her organs, pull her brain out through her nose, dip her in water, cover her in salt and spices, and then wrap her until every inch was covered for eternity! 

NOW they didn’t mind having a Barbie, lol!

photo_041409_010photo_041409_014

photo_041409_012

A day later, and the project was done,

photo_041409_0161It was so much fun, we decided to make each other mummies, too!

photo_041609_002then our Ancient Egypt study culminated into a trip to Dallas to see the King Tut display.  Even Dad got to come along. 

 000_0002_00

We had a great time!

4 Comments

Filed under Children, Family, Homeschool, homeschooling, Humor, Life

4 responses to “How to Make Boys Cry…

  1. Niki

    This is AWESOME! You get the Mom and Teacher of the Year award!!!! I love it!

  2. O.k., this cracked me up, Julie!! 🙂 Hee, Hee, Hee, my boy would have the same reaction! (BTW, I like your sinister side!) What a neat idea…Thanks for sharing!

  3. Cute, cute, cute!!! Unfortunately, I let Eli look at this and now he can’t wait to try it on his own. I think I’ll send him to your house. 😉

  4. Patty

    Julie, I saw this linked to Sarah’s (SCH) Facebook acct. This was GREAT! I really WAS laughing out loud! (Unusual for when I see “lol.) My 10 and 8 year old boys asked me what I was laughing at and I almost didn’t let them see it, because I think it’s a great idea! Wish I would have held out. Oh well… I know it wouldn’t have been much different than the response you got! Now they want to make mummies, too : ) Thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

