Acting in the Spirit.

My last post, Act as a Witness, addressed our mission as Christians using the biblical text of Acts 1:8.  Because I was focusing on our mission, I almost left off part of the verse  — the beginning that speaks of the power of the Holy Spirit:

“you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, …”

Instead of leaving it off, though, I was prompted to go back and add the beginning.  I wasn’t sure why.  I remember acknowledging that the first part of the verse was very important, because without the Holy Spirit’s power, our mission to be a witness is in vain.  Still, my initial reaction was to use only the part of the verse that directly applied to being a witness. 

But! …. Now I know why!! 🙂 (I have to smile when the working of the Holy Spirit is evident!)

Not long after the post my blogger friend, Janet, posted this comment:

“The verse you quoted (Acts 1:8) has “spoken” to me this morning, and reminded me that the Holy Spirit will give me the boldness I need when He wants me to speak out. {In my own strength, I can be timid and shy, but God does not give us a spirit of fear or timidity!–(2 Tim. 1:7)}”

And then, my husband wrote this.  (Click here)

Even as I finished the last post, I planned on devoting one to the power and works of the Holy Spirit, but instead, He has already done that for me! 

It is just amazing to me how God works!  He can take one simple act of obedience — in this case, just the addition of the complete verse on a blog post to equip and give power to Janet, and then He can prompt my husband to write about the power of the Spirit in our “marching orders”, at the same time I was planning my next post.

Some may consider that a small thing, but even in the smallest event, the Holy Spirit is mighty in power.  He can encourage each one of us personally, just when we need it, and at the right time that we need it, and in ways that others won’t understand.  That’s what makes it incredible!  Just to know that God cares so much for us, that He personally relates with our day-to-day thoughts and events!

Which brings me to a point I did want to make as we study the book of Acts and the works and power of the Holy Spirit:  The actions of the church must be led by the Holy Spirit.  If we don’t allow the Holy Spirit to lead, then our actions, efforts, programs, plans, studies, and any other activity we can think of will be fruitless. 

On the other hand, just because we proceed without the direction of the Holy Spirit doesn’t mean that God won’t finish his work.  Regardless of our disobedience, God still finishes His work. 

“Will their unbelief make the faithfulness of God without effect?  Certainly not!”  Romans 3:3-4

“If we are faithless, He remains faithful…”  2 Timothy 2:13

“And we know that all things work together for good…” Romans 8:28

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38 – 39

We, as humans, are “created things” as referenced in Romans 8.  Many, many times this created thing (me) has begun a work because it was something I thought worthwhile, or because “somebody” needed to do it, or because it was just “something” that the church was “supposed” to do.  Yet, I didn’t stop to consult God about it.  Consequently, the work, although seemingly admirable, was unfruitful and not used to further God’s kingdom. 

Still, God continued on.  He ignored my selfish motivations and all my plans to proceed with His work.  (Thank goodness!

He is faithful, even when we are not. 

The Holy Spirit is real.  We know He is here when He takes the things of Christ and shows them to us.  He visits us personally — encouraging, strengthening, empowering, guiding.

What is the Holy Spirit saying to you today?  

2 Comments

Filed under Acts, Bible, Bible Study, Church, Gifts, God, Holy Spirit

2 responses to “Acting in the Spirit.

  1. sillyspring

    I love that you mentioned that, either way, the Lord will finish His work. I remember when I was a baby Christian I was often frantic, thinking that He declared it was all up to me, me, me…… whew. What a misunderstanding… He is faithful.

  2. Hey mom…cross your fingers…because I think I might be getting it…no fever yet, though…but I’m ready to go to bed. Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

