Give it up.

Seasons of dryness…I think I’m going through one.  What do you do when you want so much, and yet just can’t seem to get there? 

I’m not talking about material things.  I’m talking about the personal, evident, special touch that only God gives in your life.  –The emotion that comes along with that personal relationship with God.  Where is the Joy? 

Life is so busy.  I know I’m not alone….most everyone, it seems, is just stretched to the limit.  Although learning to manage our time is essential, it seems like even the most important tasks of our day-to-day life are crowded in with endless chaos.

The result of it is that less and less time is spent with our Creator…the One who loves us most. 

We dwell in the negative…unfulfilled desires, broken promises, hurt, unfinished tasks, a never-ending to-do list, weakness, indecision, tiredness.

Finally, we just have to give it up. 

It doesn’t immediately promise relief, but hope that things will change.

A song that especially speaks to my heart is one that my brother-in-law, Travis Sellers, wrote several years ago.  (Click Here)

I hope it will minister to you in these seasons of dryness, just as it does me.

6 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Faith, Family, Father, God, Trials, Worship

6 responses to “Give it up.

  1. So much easier said than done as I am sure we can all attest. But there is certainly a freedom in giving it all up to him.

    I hope that you refind the joy of your salvation quickly. When we consider the hope we have in Christ we can’t but be awed and humbled. And when we think of His love for us, for you, we can’t help but be reassured.

    Remember His mercies are renewed every morning and joy comes in the morning. I don’t think that is a coincidence. (Lam 3:22-23, Ps 30:5)

  2. Oh, I know what you’re talking about Julie. I’ve certainly been through some periods of “dryness” before, but He’s always brought me through “to the other side.” Like you said, it’s not an immediate thing, but the relief does come.

    I love your message of “give it up,” and I appreciate the song. You’re right, when it’s time to “give it up,” He’s the One we need to give it to. He certainly can handle it a lot better than we can!

    Praying for you,
    In Him,
    Janet

  3. And He said unto me, Son of man, can these bones live? And I answered, O Lord God, Thou knowest . . . Thus said the Lord God unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live. Ez. 37 3 & 5

    We often walk thru the valley of the dry bones, and it is extremely discouraging. Your heart is heavy, your eyes weepy, and your soul longs to be filled. The only thing I know to tell you, Julie, is what the chief musician said in his song upon Alamoth . . . Be still and know that I am God . . . just as He will be exalted, He will fill your cup. If this helps at all, think back to the time we were at Tolosa and Sandra sang, Fill My Cup. Especially the words, fill my cup Lord, I lift it up Lord, come and quench this thirsting of my soul. Bread of heaven, feed me till I want no more, fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole.

    Sending love to you from us.

  4. tracimac

    Julie, I will continue to pray that the “dry spell” passes quickly. I know, that as I just came out of this last one, you were the one that offered encouragement to me. I never saw you without a smile and a kind word. I hope that if there is anything that you need, even if it is just a hug and a smile, you will let me know. I love you sister.

  5. Pingback: “The Needle in the Haystack…” « Daily Provision

  6. Seasons of dryness or those where everything seems lost…
    I know these times, don’t we all? Just keep pressing in to Jesus and a breakthrough is sure to come. Sometimes the dryest times are right before the Lord opens the windows of heaven. I pray they will open for you soon dear Julie! I’m praying for and thinking of you often, and could surely use some too.
    Looks like I am starting a job this week, and it seems the Lord has been leading the way up to this so even though my flesh struggles, my spirit rejoices. May His will be done; His and His alone!

    Much Love and grace to you!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

