Ode to de Nose.

 (Trying my hand at poetry today:)

 

Oh, that my nose would clear,

For right outside is the nice Fall air.

Oh, that I would not sneeze and sneeze,

During the only time in Texas when there is a breeze.

 Why doest my eyes seem to resemble so,

The infamous red on Rudolph’s nose?

From the scratching, and itching, and burning and pain

I am in want — in WANT!  In want of breath again.

I shall sleep! I shall sleep! That should be the cure!

If only my children that schedule would endure.

For it’s during the sleep that my nose doesn’t know

How to twitch, how to throb, how to bother me so.

What do you think? 

Yeah, I know.

18 Comments

Filed under Anyone got a Kleenex?, Children, Death from Allergies, Family, God, Health, Life, Mercy, Poetry, Ragweed, Rip My Nose Off, Trials

18 responses to “Ode to de Nose.

  1. tracimac

    Bravo! Bravo! I love it!!!
    I want you to know, someone if Florida has heard your poem (by the way, Jim says Hi!). I hope you feel better soon!

  2. Kari

    I love it!! You just might be the next great poet!!

  3. eclexia

    Ah, took me right back to life in Dallas! I’ve lived in Europe, Africa, Maryland and Florida, and have never been as itchy and runny and miserable for so many months of the year as I was when we lived in Texas. So, you have my sympathies! It’s great that you could make the best of it with your creativity.

  4. Words I live by. You’re amazing – I’m glad you’ll be sharing your smarts with my precious grandbaby! By the way, I’m staying at spaces.live for now. I don’t have the strength to start over.

  5. Julie

    Traci and Kari – I’m giving autographs tomorrow. (on a clean kleenex, of course!) 🙂

    Eclexia – You’re quite the world traveler! I’ve only been out of the country once. I WAS wondering, though, if there were parts of the world I could escape to (should the Lord permit)? Are any of those countries ragweed-less?!! lol Thanks for stopping by. Many blessings to you and yours 🙂

    Dale – I don’t know about “smarts”, but I am so honored to share anything with your grandbaby!! Mostly, it will be lots and lots of love and kisses!! Looking forward to having another girl in the house 🙂

  6. Wonderful!!! Fabulous!!! Maybe we should start a poetry class for the kids!! How is it having a baby in the house again?

  7. We’re honored to have you to be a caregiver to our precious baby. It won’t be long before she’s under the spell of your poetical finesse.

  8. Drop school tasks and drink hot tea,
    sip some broth, let lads run free.
    If your symptoms persist still,
    drop boys here & take Benadryl! 🙂

    I’m so sorry that your sick. I was there two weeks ago. The girls did school at my bedside for a whole week!
    Have a great trip this weekend. Tell Pamster that we said “HI” and that we miss her!

  9. Sorry to hear you’re sick. Cheri’s poetic medical advice sounds like a good solution to me!

  10. Hi Julie,

    I like your poem. There’s nothing like a little humor to make a cold more bearable. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Carol

  11. Oklahoma, where the wind comes sweepin’ down the plain
    And the wavin’ wheat can sure smell sweet
    When the wind comes right behind the rain…
    It can be extremely hard if RAGWEED is mixed in! 🙂

  12. I don’t know Julie, your talents just keeps amazing me! 🙂
    Hope you are feeling better!
    We are almost settled in and I finally have a minute to breathe myself, and take a stroll through the old wordpress neighborhood. ( And did a couple of posts just for you sister. ) I am so sorry I haven’t responded to your email, but will soon!

    May Jesus bless and be with you!

    Susan

  13. This is a suggestion, try freeze-fried nettles. I’ve done this before for my allergies and it worked.

    Take three the first day, two the second day and one for the next 5 days. See if the “herbal way” helps you!

  14. Okay — they are not FREEZE-FRIED — they are Freeze-Dried — I get them at Whole Foods Market…

  15. tracimac

    Julie, I hate to hear that you are still “allergic”. 8) I hope you feel better soon or we are just gonna have to send you away until you’re better (I am sure Ken wouldn’t mind having the boys for awhile by himself). HAHHAHAHAHAHHAHA.
    Sorry, I forgot myself there for a minute. Get to feeling better sister, hope to see you tonight! Lots of love and kisses for you and the boys (and Kenya and Pam too).

  16. Julie, it was good seeing you and Kenneth tonight at Dogwood. In spite of the technical difficulties, your song was beautiful. I’ve missed hearing you sing. Take care, and tell everyone at your house hello for me.

  17. It was so good to see you and Kenneth at the Association mtg. on Sunday night. Your song was beautiful… you’re always a blessing to me! Praying for you all !!

  18. Just stopping by to say hello! Is everything all right with Julie? it’s been a while since you’ve posted or come by the blog ( and I wrote three posts just for you)… 🙂

    Blessings to you!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

