Our Daily Devotion.

Since we’ve been talking homeschool a while (it seems like that’s all I have time for anymore!), I thought I would share with you more of what goes on in Bible class.

We begin each morning with a “Quiet Time”.  I set the timer and the idea is that each of us spend time at the kitchen table in the Word of God until the bell rings.  We started out with a 2 minute quiet time, and have slowly graduated to 7 minutes. 

Sometimes, the time is not so quiet, or is filled with my “shshing” as the boys begin to talk or play.  Most of the time, however, they do stay quiet and engaged somewhat in their bible.  The three year old has a bible with lots of colorful pictures, so he flips the pages, guessing what the stories are about.  The five year old can recognize some words, so he circles the ones he can actually read.  I read as fast as I can knowing that this may be my only chance to soak up God’s instruction for the day!

When the time is over, we each take turns sharing “What God has showed us today”. 

Yesterday, this is what the three year old said as he looked at a picture of a family sitting on a couch together, reading their bible, and the family cat is perched on the couch with them,

“Da cat’s sleepin on the couch.  They readin about God and the Daddy’s gwill (girl) and Jesus say, “You wanna go to heaven?”, and he say “Yes!””

The five year old received some clear instruction from the Holy Spirit about an issue we had the previous day.  We are studying about selfishness and servanthood, and I suggested that we do something nice for someone this week.  His immediate reply was very selfish, and he fervently stated that he was NOT going to go to so much trouble for the person we were talking about.  I was floored!  I did not expect such a strong and unloving response.  However, after yesterday’s quiet time, he said:

“When I wuz readin, my head started getting all wiggly and messy up there so I started to listen, and God helped me get it out.  My brain said “yes”, so I’m gonna do it.”

So…he, through the Holy Spirit’s leading, no doubt, will be following through with the suggestion to make someone feel special this week! 

This was so exciting to see him hear, listen to, and respond with obedience to God.  Even to those at such a young age, God is gracious and merciful to gently remind us of our mistakes, and then lead us in the right path.

By no coincidence, I also read in Proverbs the following words:

“My son, if you receive my words, and treasure my commands within you, so that you incline your ear to wisdom, and apply your heart to understanding; Yes, if you cry out for discernment, and lift up your voice for understanding, If you seek her as silver, and search for her as for hidden treasures; Then you will understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.”  Proverbs 2:1-6

God’s word…..receive it, treasure it, listen to it, apply it, cry out for discernment of it, seek it, search it — then you will understand. 

May you all have a day full of understanding!

6 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Blessings, Children, Family, God, Grace, Homeschool, Joy, Life, Love, Obedience, Wisdom

6 responses to “Our Daily Devotion.

  1. That was great. It’s so exciting when you see God working in your children. You gotta love ’em.

  2. Cindy May

    Julie
    I loved your devotion, I needed to hear those scriptures from Gods word.

    Keep up the good work.

  3. Julie

    Hi Cindy 🙂

    Glad to know you were blessed by God’s Word! (and commented about it) 😉 !
    Give your family a hug from us — we miss you!

    Julie

  4. I remember once when Zach was a teenager, he came home and caught me reading out loud from the Bible… something I often do to keep from being distracted… I stopped when he came in the room and he said, “keep goin’, Mom” … so I did. “Train up a child in the way he should go…”Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.” -Prov.22:6

    KEEP GOIN’ MOM!

  5. Julie

    Thanks again, Rhonda! How’s that grandbaby doing? Any teeth yet?!!

  6. Children are such a blessing and a source of joy and laughter aren’t they?!
    How precious to see them respond to the Holy Spirit.

    Bless you Julie!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

