What It’s All About

The thrill of learning!  The excitement of knowing that you actually understand! 

I have been blessed to be “front and center” to witness the miracle of knowledge! 

Last night, the three year old was somewhat uncontrollable in his excitement.  He has figured out that more than one object can start with the same letter.

For instance, the ABC Chart we use in school shows a wagon beside the letter “W”.  He played an ABC game last night that instead showed a watch for the letter “W”.  At first, he was saying, “Whu, Whu, …..Clock!” 

Then, after we pointed out that it was a “watch” and not a clock, his eyes lit up and he just started laughing.  It was so hilarious!  A “watch” and a “wagon” BOTH start with “W” and the “whu” sound!!  —– Wow!!

He spent the rest of the night, even into the night as he conned his way into Mom and Dad’s bed saying all the letters of the alphabet and the name of objects that start with each letter. 

Then…he proceeded to continue to fill his Daddy in on all the things he learned at “school” that day…matching capital letters to lower case letters, circle the pictures that began with the letter “L”, painting primary colors (blue, yellow, and red) and then mixing them to create secondary colors (orange, green, and purple), making hand puppets to form a butterfly and reciting the poem that goes along with it…

He went on and on and on and on and on…

Yep, this is what it’s all about! 

Hmmmm…..I wonder if God feels the same way when we “finally get it”….the lessons He’s been telling us over and over and over? 

I just imagine Him smiling, sitting back, and saying, “Yes, my child…..well done!”

7 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Blessings, Children, Family, Gifts, God, Homeschool, Humor, Joy, Life, Love

7 responses to “What It’s All About

  1. kids are kool……..they learn quicker than us for sure..

  2. I love the post Julie! Brings back sweet memories.
    Oh how babes can bring a smile to our hearts like no other!
    May you all be blessed in the godly choice to home school your precious little ones. It’s a lot of work but well worth it!
    It is such a joy to watch them grow and learn, isn’t it? The Lord has used the love I feel for my family many times to remind me of His great love for us. We serve such a wonderful, faithful God!
    Blessings to you and your family in Jesus!
    Susan

  3. I love it when we get to see the “light go on” in their heads! It is what makes it all worth it 🙂

  4. primary colors (blue, yellow, and red) …secondary colors (orange, green, and purple) … I gotta remember that… you never stop learning! How wonderful! Can I come and “monitor” your class? Your boys are such a delight! I wonder… can grandmas homeschool grandbabies? Is that allowed?

  5. noahs mom

    Oh, Julie. I’m reading your post hanging my head in shame. PLEASE come teach my kids! This morning, Eli said, “Mommy, how old am I going to be again?” (His b-day is on Monday) and I held up 4 fingers. “Oh, yeah, that’s right. I’m going to be two!”

    Oh brother.

    However, he did make up a joke last night using the word “nocturnal” correctly in a sentence. Such a quirky little boy.

    It’s so exciting to read how fast your boys are catching on. I love reading your homeschool posts! 🙂

    Leslie

  6. Brett is so cute!!! Everytime I see him I have to resist the temptation of squeezing his little cheeks. 🙂

  7. How could your boys not learn with such a great teacher?! Give them both a hug for me. By the way, Dreama, I’m sure if you promise Brett a hot dog, he’d be glad to let you squeeze his cheeks!

Leave a Reply

