Schooling – Week #1

Ok, for those of  you who aren’t into the homeschool scene, this may be a little boring for you.  But…if you were wondering how our first week went…

Bible:

The theme this week was all about God.  We answered the questions, “Can we see God?”, “Are we like God?”, and “How are we different from God?”  I’m really liking the book we are using (“A Faith to Grow On” by John MacArthur).  Questions like these have already sparked some very fruitful conversation. 

Wednesday’s question included the subject of creation of man and other living things.  I pointed out that in scripture, it says that man was placed in dominion over the animals, and then to put it in words my five year old would understand, I said that man was made the “boss” over the animals and other living things. 

Agreeing with what he was hearing, he quickly replied, “I know!  Boys control animals.  Girls control flower beds.”

Ok, ….so…..he SORT of got it?!!

We had 2 – 3 minute “quiet” times using a kitchen timer as our clock.  I would attempt to scan through as much of the Word that I could read all the while wishing I had another hour to evelope myself in it, while the five year old circled the words he COULD read in his bible (i.e., God, the, to, etc.), and the three year old “read” the pictures in his bible.  It worked pretty well, and I hope it is setting the standard of morning worship with God.

Character:

  “We Obey God” is the first rule in the “21 Rules of This House” by Greg Harris.  I decided to use Matthew 22:37-40 as our scripture to support this rule . We paraphrased the verses and made up hand motions to it which the boys loved.  I actually caught the five year old “loving his neighbor (little brother) as himself” two times through the week.  Yeah!

Language Arts:

In the “Sing, Spell, Read, and Write” curriculum, all the phonics rules are set to music.  We use a chart which shows the capital letter, lower case letter, and a picture object for the letter sound.  The first 26 days in the curriculum focus on teaching a letter a day, recognizing its’ sound, and the capital and lower case versions of the letter, then writing it both ways.  There’s games to support the lesson as well as a structured and repetitive method of teaching the lesson plan.  It is working wonderfully!  We have made it through “Dd”.

He writes his first and last name several times each day for practice.

We’re reading aLOT, too.  Literature is a big part of the program.  We read a book each day to emphasize the sound of the letter we are studying.  Today, Craig actually read a lot of the words in “Go, Dog, Go” by Dr. Seuss.  He was so proud of himself, and actually got frustrated when I was trying to hurry through the book and not let him read it all!

Mathematics:

We’ve defined and recognized circles, rectangles, squares and triangles this week.  We’re using lots and lots of manipulatives set to a “farm” scene.  (You should meet Mr. and Mrs Farmer Brown sometime!)  Today, we went further into pattern recognition using sound patterns, action patterns, shape patterns, and color patterns.  How exciting it was to incorporate 1 Timothy into a math lesson, where we see Jesus acting as a “pattern” and example for our life!

Music:

The five year old started piano lessons.  He is a master musician in progress 😉

Science:

We read the story of creation, illustrated in a beautiful book published by Crossway Books.  The plan is to concentrate more on what was made each day of creation, and use that for the entire year.  We will begin with the planets, sun and stars next week.

Drama/Speech:

This was quite interesting!  Here is my little “Noah”!

Noah

We read the biblical account of the flood, drew chronological pictures on index cards, found items to create a costume, and then video taped him telling all about Noah.  We’ll be adding 12 more characters/stories to the tape to complete our movie to be shown at the end of year museum!

Foreign Language:

I finally decided to use a lesson out of a “High Five” magazine (preschool version of “Highlights”).  We introduced five spanish words and phrases that I’m sure I’m mispronouncing!…but…..it is FOREIGN language, right?

Social Studies:

We’re beginning with an “All About Me” book.  Once it’s completed, we’ll probably move into the study of different people groups, and then world locations/maps.

Technology:

We learned the various parts of a computer. I had to laugh when I realized that he did not know what a “floppy drive” was!!  (Oh, the age of CD’s…..)

Art:

This……ladies and gentleman, is called a shape sculpture! 

Shape Sculpture

(See the circles, rectangles, and squares?!!)  It is proudly displayed on our dining room table!

We also learned the names of the three primary colors:  blue, yellow and red

P.E./Health:

Two hours in the pool 😉  Yes……it WAS exercise! 

Other Stuff:

The daily weather predictions around here have ranged from Sunny to Partly Cloudy to Snowy.  They have actually gotten it right 3 out of 5 days!!

Each day we’ve reviewed the months of the year and days of the week, also displaying the current date.

Yes…I’m mean, I made him do homework, too! 

To manage their behavior, I decided to go with putting five stickers on their desk each day.  Each time I have to call them on their behavior, one sticker is removed.  The goal is to have at least one sticker left at the end of the day and then they can pick something out of the prize box.  I’m already noticing their motivation…big brother picks candy items, little brother wants toys! 

They kept at least one sticker each day until Friday when, after school, I caught them duking it out, fists, punches and all, on their floor in the bedroom.  I walked in to find big brother sprawled on top of little brother and both of them was grunting, and throwing left and right hooks as fast as they could!  Needless to say……they did NOT get a treat that day!

It was, however, a good week.  Thanks to you all for praying for us.  God is wonderful and blessed us with knowledge, wisdom, and patience just as we needed it!

11 Comments

Filed under God

11 responses to “Schooling – Week #1

  1. Julie,

    Your Friday afternoon sounds a whole lot like my daily routine. Seems like there is always someone wanting to duke it out when you have 500+ students. Welcome to the world of assistant principal! Really, you’re doing a great job.

  2. I love the dress up idea! We might try that too! I think I may need to be in Kindergarten and not 4th grade 🙂 You still have a computer with a floppy drive??? WOW! It sounds like your week went well.

  3. Sorry, I don’t have a lot of links to pester with this…

    You’ve been tagged. Stop by my space to see the rules. http://www.rhondajones.spaces.live.com

  4. I think these character videos will be good for the wedding years from now. Such a fun idea!!

    Hope you all are doing well.

  5. My first box of crayola crayons had 8 colors in it. Red, yellow, blue, green, brown,black,white,orange. I think that’s right. They were all primary to me! Three primary? What are Benny&Smith thinking?! This may have to be my next blog post…

  6. Who are Benny & Smith?

  7. Are you still in Lubbock??? We had our first day of Co Op or should I say organized chaos??? LOL. See ya when you get back.

  8. Okay, what happened in week #2?

  9. Julie

    I’m not sure who Benny & Smith are either, Rhonda?! Please enlighten us!

  10. Julie

    Oh!…..thanks for the e:mail Rhonda.

    Dale — It’s actually Binny & Smith. Here’s the link Rhonda sent to me:
    http://www.binney-smith.com

    I guess I’m too young to remember Crayola’s parent company name?!! (Yes!)

Leave a Reply

