Sending Me A Reminder.

At the post office yesterday, I ran into a friend whom I haven’t seen in a while.  Cindy is such a sweet person, with a wonderful family in the church we still call “home”. 

Little did I know, but Cindy has been reading my blog! Welcome Cindy 🙂

We got to talking about our kids and one of the things we have in common with our sons — seizures.  Her teenage son has had several seizures.  They are different from the type of seizures my son experiences in that my son’s are always related to fever, and his are not. 

She said something that later made me think, and served as a reminder to slow down a bit.  With all the business of our life right now, I realize that I may be putting my son at more of a risk for seizure.  She was talking about someone else that was told by a doctor to stay home if their child was tired and get him to rest.  Rest is important and the lack of it often contributes to other problems, as we all know.

So, as I was thinking about that comment, I realized that my son does show signs of weariness right before seizure episodes. His latest one happened after 10:30 p.m. and on a day that he had not had a nap.

We have been doing too much — trying to squeeze every moment out of every day, and he sometimes misses naps or stays up too late.  I know this is not good for him.

So…that being said, I appreciate the reminder, Cindy, (and God) to slow down.  I resolve to try to manage my schedule better, and see to it that Brett is a more rested child.

 As a matter of fact, it’s 10:16 a.m…….sounds like a good time for a morning nap.  Guess I’ll have to go lay down WITH him! 😉

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

2 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Blessings, Children, Family, Febrile Seizure, Friends, God, Health, Obedience, Priorities, Resolutions, Time

2 responses to “Sending Me A Reminder.

  1. Hey, Julie,

    I’m sure if you are too busy to take the time to nap with Brett, there are a number of us uncle and aunt types that would be happy to watch (snooze) with him! Seriously, isn’t it great how God directs our paths to meet (what we believe at first to be a casual encounter) people that put little tidbits from God in our thinking basket? I’m kinda thinking we Christians should revmove the word coincidence from our vocabulary; especially since there is no such thing as accidental or incidental with Him. Give Brett and Craig a tight squeeze from Uncle Dale and Aunt Karen. We love you guys and miss seeing you. Tell Kenneth it’s time for a little housekeeping in his blog room!

  2. Can I join you? I need more rest! 🙂
    I do hope you will seriously take the time to rest with Brett and enjoy every minute with your precious son. As you know the years go by too quickly and one day you wake up to find you’re a grandma!

    Sleep well Julie!

Leave a Reply

