The Superintendent.

God is the Superintendent.  My husband is the Principal.  I am the teacher.  My son is beginning kindergarten!

Through God’s leading, we are beginning homeschool in two weeks.  This, a decision we don’t take lightly, has been prayed over, and held in consideration for some time now. 

Though we are going to take it year-by-year, we know that for now the decision to homeschool is the right one for us in 2007.  God has given us the opportunity, the curriculum, and a group of very supportive friends through a new new co-op in the area.  (Praise the Lord! — thank you, ladies 🙂 

Why homeschool?  Well, for several reasons…most of all because God has simply given us direction to do it.  In many instances in the bible, it states that we should “teach our children” the ways of the Lord, and though one can still accomplish that task AND send their children to public school, it seems increasingly difficult to strengthen Christian teaching at home while the child is spending 8 hours under the influence of a godless environment. 

Unfortunately, the government has seen to it that Christian viewpoints and the practicing of Christian ethics are “unacceptable” in public school.  –What a sad realization!?  Even Christian teachers and administrators have to work everyday in fear for their job if they respond to the spiritual needs of a child at school.  The very mention of God’s name can be enough to put their job in jeapordy. 

Children who do have Christian homes are taught to respect God’s name and to stand in awe of His creations.  Then, they are sent out the door to deal all day with a world that stands to destroy the very ideas their parents just taught them. 

The youngest children, especially, are at risk because they are so impressionable and need to be grounded on God’s foundation before they are ready to face such worldly suggestions. 

“Moreover your little ones and your children, who you say will be victims, who today have no knowledge of good and evil…”  Deuteronomy 1:39

So…we have accepted God’s directive to teach our children the ways of the Lord.  We plan to teach them how to read His word, spell His name, write His words on their heart, and add up the blessings he bestows upon their life.  We will credit God for the work of His creations, acknowledge His power to change history, and praise Him in song through music.  Our foreign language studies will concentrate on the need to share the gospel message with people around the world.  Character and good citizenship will be emphasized under the example left to us by our Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. 

For many, many reasons, we choose to incorporate Christian principles in every academic subject we will study.  This is the exciting part!  –No constraints.  No subjecting our boys to educational theories that conflict with the word of God.  No study for meaningless tests that waste valuable time.  An opportunity to spend valuable time with them in their early years, building a strong God-filled life foundation.  — This is why we are homeschooling.

Will I be able to do it?  — Prayerfully!  I know it won’t be easy, and much like a first year teacher, I’m sure I will make lots of mistakes.  However, for us, it is the right thing to do.  We welcome the opportunity, and consider it an honor.

My son is excited and ready to learn.  My initial lesson plans are almost complete.  We’re about to set up the school “room”, and plan a fun-filled first day! 

In the mean time, I thought I would share this video with you.  It so perfectly exemplifies the excitement of teaching our children God’s word.

11 Comments

Filed under Bible, Blessings, Children, Commitment, Ethics, Faith, Family, Friends, Gifts, God, Homeschool, Joy, Life, Love, Missions, Obedience, Prayer, Preparation, Wisdom

11 responses to “The Superintendent.

  1. That is PRECIOUS!!! Slobbery PRECIOUS!!!

  2. i saw this video somewhere else recently — amazing!
    thanks for visiting my blog! and for your encouraging words.
    i like the “god is….” concept you have going here.
    blessings in the Lord

  3. Too cute! Much love to you today Julie! You will be able to do this homeschooling thing! It will be an awesome God honoring experience. Hugs! J

  4. Thank you for sharing your decision to homeschool and the reasons behind that decision. We are homeschooling for the same reasons. It’s good to know there are others out there endeavoring to “teach (their) children in the ways of the Lord.”

    Your post has also served as a good reminder to me of why I am continuing on this homeschooling journey! May God bless you and your family, and may He direct you every step of the way as you educate your son.

    In Him, Janet

  5. Hey, Julie,

    I know God will bless you in this endeavor. Call me if I can help in any way.

  6. Julie

    Dreama — Ha! Ha! Don’t you wanna just reach up and wipe her little chin?!!

    Mandy – Thanks for stopping by. I think I heard that Beth Moore was showing the video at Women of Faith Conferences? It is really cute 🙂

    Johnnie – Thanks, once again for your supportive comments! Hope you are having a wonderful week!

    Janet – Thanks for stopping by again! Homeschooling is such a huge venture, but so well worth it, huh?! I’m looking forward to the benefit of your experiences I as I read through your “homeschooling” posts! God Bless!

    Dale – Thank you so much for your support. I have wondered what people working in public schools think about our decision. As a former Attendance Clerk in a public school, I have so many times seen the families who SAY they will homeschool, yet do not follow through. As a result, their children end up playing all day, or running around the streets, missing out on an important education. It is so sad in those instances. However, when it is done properly, the children seem to flourish. From my research, I have found that many colleges now consider homeschooled students among their best students. So….hopefully, we’ll do it right!

  7. There is no doubt in my mind that y’all will do it right. You’ve been doing it right for a long time. Besides, you love God and your children too much to do it wrong! Home schooling can provide you with options that a lot of teachers don’t have time to employ. But, like you say, too many people say they are going to home school and it is a miserable failure. Not because home schooling is the problem, but being disciplined enough to make it happen. Anyway, just call me if you need to send someone to the office!?!

  8. Julie,
    I thought I would share with you my cousin’s homeschool schedule. It’s Nancy Sapp, Sarah’s sister. I’m sure you will love it, she is sooooo detailed!!
    http://imransomed.blogspot.com/

  9. Julie

    Dreama,
    Oh my word!!! That was sooo not what I was expecting!! (But I think I like it. I’m going to look back over my lesson plans…written in pencil for just such occasions as this!!

    Thanks for sharing 😉

    Julie

    P.S. Please tell Nancy I said hi. Her site wouldn’t allow my comment.

  10. Pingback: To Everything There Is A Season… « Daily Provision

Leave a Reply

