In Her Eyes.

k-eye.jpg

God knows both the happiness and grief a teenager can bring to a mother’s heart.  When I became a parent, and through the last twenty years, I have been concerned about my children and what it will be like when they reach those delicate teenage years.   Will they be “boy crazy”?  Will they strive to succeed?  Will they be respectful of others?  Will they listen to God’s call on their life?  Will they remember the things that I have tried to teach them?  Will they ignore and learn from my own failures?  Or…possibly the greatest concern….will they be different from the way I was as a teenager?  Oh how I have hoped so!  Like many parents, I have wanted to spare them so much of what has been learned the “hard way”.

Fortunately, God has blessed us twice so far in this area.  My oldest is now 20 years old!  We are so proud of her and the decisions she has made.  She seeks God often, and serves Him faithfully.  She has served as a positive role model for other young girls.  She worked diligently to achieve in high school, and now in college.  She loves her family, and is not ashamed to admit it.  She doesn’t mind giving her Mom a hug.  She recognizes that we continue to learn in life, making mistakes along the way, but leaning on God to pull us through. 

With Kenya, I have not had to face what many parents face.   She has not been in the “party” crowd, done drugs or alcohol.  She has stayed committed to be pure for her future spouse.  Most importantly, though, she is wanting to be what God would have her be, before anything or anyone else.   

We are so proud and look forward to watching her be blessed due to all the good decisions she has made early in life. 

This summer, she has served as an associational missionary.  You can read all about it on her blog, the Uncomfort Zone.  

I have heard it said that, “Becoming a parent is making a decision to wear your heart on the outside of your body forever”.  — Because of Kenya, my heart has moved from a heavy load on my shoulders, to the inside of my arms, where I rocked her as a baby.

…Way to go, daughter!!  Keep up the Lord’s work!!

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth”  3 John 4 

7 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Birthday, Blessings, Children, Church, Commitment, Faith, Family, Gifts, God, Grace, Joy, Life, Love, Missions, Obedience, Preparation, Priorities, Reputation, Success, Uncategorized, Wisdom, Witness

7 responses to “In Her Eyes.

  1. I couldn’t have done it without the Godly examples that raised me..

    Mom…you are making me cry..lol

  2. By the way…I have one cute eye!

  3. yeah…that’s a real nice picture. You should see if maybe the department of the treasury couldn’t use that pic for the back of the new dollar bill.

  4. Julie,

    It’s been a real blessing watching Kenya grow. I know that God has many wonderful things in store for her and her future.

  5. God has blessed you with two wonderful daughters ! I pray for continued wisdom and strength to follow His leading!

  6. I’m praying for you as you see your baby birdie leave the nest to soar for Christ.

  7. We wanted to stop by and let you know that yall are in our thoughts this weekend. We know its not an easy thing to deal with “growing up.” Love you guys-Josh and Jacki

Leave a Reply

