Battling for Brett.

Tears on my face, anger building up in my soul, I sit here tonight….just 3 hours after Brett’s 17th seizure. 

No warning really, just dropping on the ground in a very violent seizure lasting three and half minutes.  His face turned blue.  We could do Nothing.

Why Lord?  Why does my son have to suffer through this?  He’s just a little boy. 

We’re especially concerned about this one because he didn’t wake up very well from the sleep that follows the seizure.  His speech was slurred more than usual this time, and his motor functions weren’t right.  He would reach out to grab something and just let his hand fall short of the object, or jerk his whole arm in an attempt to begin the action of reaching. 

Right now, he’s sleeping and his fever is finally coming down.  (Thank you, Lord.)

As I try to make some sense of this again, questions come in my mind.

Just today, I was reading my bible as much as possible.  (I’m trying to read through it this year, and have fallen behind, so I spent most of my extra time today reading.)  I got all the way to the book of Job and stopped. 

I hesitated beginning Job.  As a matter of fact, I dreaded reading Job because it seems like every time I read Job something bad happens.  Yes, I know… Job maintained his faith and obedience to God through horrible circumstances and tragedy.  For many, like my husband, the book of Job strengthens.  For me, it seems to bring doubt and fear.

Then…..the seizure. 

After returning home and getting Brett settled for the night, I spent a while just leaning over him, looking at his beautiful face and watching him breathe….such precious breath…breath that he was struggling to hold onto for three and half minutes just over an hour earlier. 

While studying his little face, I suddenly felt anger and the presence of satan trying to grab ahold of my little boy.  Even now, it just makes me “crazy” with anger. 

satan will NOT have my son! 

I rebuked him in the name of Jesus Christ and told him to leave Brett alone.  I can’t explain it with mere words, but I know that satan is attacking, and I probably sounded anything but Baptist as I poured my heart out to God over Brett’s sleeping form. 

Part of me was thinking that I was thinking too much.  The other part knew what was going on.

I came to the computer, pulled up my blog stat page, and noticed these words:

“satan is attacking now July 2007”

They were in the section that normally shows search engine terms that “someone” has typed in and found my blog.  I know that it was confirmation of what we are going through.

So…for those of you who think I may have “lost my rocker”…I haven’t.  It is just becoming clear to me that we are under attack.  My son, unfortunately, is paying the price for our obedience to God.  I refuse to allow satan a victory.  The victory has already been established at the cross.  The battle has been won.

I will go ahead and forge through Job, clinging to all the wisdom gained by his trials.  I give God the glory as I try to give up my fear.

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38-39

“And the God of peace will crush satan under your feet shortly.”  Romans 16:20

A crushed satan cannot have my child. 

satan….you have lost this battle AND the war.

To my Christian brothers and sisters, could I just ask you to just pray?  Please pray that God will be merciful to heal Brett’s body of these seizures?  Please pray for Kenneth and I as we try to give this to God.  I’ll be honest….it isn’t easy. Thank you for interceding on our behalf. 

 

16 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Blessings, Children, Church, Commitment, Faith, Family, Father, Febrile Seizure, Gifts, God, Grace, Identity, Joy, Life, Love, Mercy, Obedience, Prayer, Security, Trials, Wisdom, Worship

16 responses to “Battling for Brett.

  1. Praying with you always, Your prayer partner ( even at 3 am.)

  2. I have been praying for Brett and all of you. We love you guys and are trusting God with you for Brett’s complete healing.

  3. Julie…. my heart aches for you and Kenneth and for precious little Brett. I AM PRAYING FOR YOU.

  4. Julie,

    Hug Brett for me and know that our family is lifting you guys up to the Lord.

  5. Kari & Jeremy

    We are praying!!!!!

  6. Cynthia

    Julie, this just brings tears to my eyes. I love that little guy so much and you and Ken both. Know that I am feverently praying the Brett will recieve complete healing. We will continuie to pray till god moves. We love and miss you all.
    Cynthia

  7. Julie,
    The Cooper’s are praying for you guys! Brett will be healed! We love you!!

  8. Julie, Just read your entry. I hate it every timeI hear Brett having another seizure. You will get to the bottom of it. He is in God’s hands as he has complete control. Love ya-Wendy

  9. Andrea

    Julie- Just got my computer running, so I just read your message about Brett. I am so sorry that you have to endure this-(him too).
    I know that God is there with you and that He will get you thru this. I can’t imagine how hard this must be on you & your family. You know how much I LOVE that little guy!!! All of you really!! I will continue to pray for you and your family.

  10. Pingback: Job Hunting. « God Is…

  11. Julie — I just saw this. Praying for you. Weeping may endure for a night, but know that JOY comes in the morning. Love ya!
    Johnnie

  12. Paula

    Julie – I have not checked your blog in a while. Your family has been in my prayers, but I realize that I need to read more often so that I will know more specifically WHAT to pray. I will be praying for your precious little Brett as well as you, Kenneth, Kenya, and Pam.

  13. Paula

    Julie – Me, again! I left out your other son (having a senior moment), and I cannot remember his name. Please don’t tell him; just remind ME!

  14. Dear dear Julie, I was just stopping by to check in and am so sorry to read this! Please write or call me anytime that you need prayer, ok?! Anytime at all.

    I pray the Father will comfort your Mama’s heart and hold you and Brett very close at this time. He truly is faithful even when we don’t understand why things like this happen.

    My love and prayers are with you,

    Susan

  15. Tanya

    IMy heart goes out to you. I am newly saved and come froma along line of atheists. Satan is furious that I am trying to stand in the gap for them. He is attacking me though my family members and in particular my 15 year old who’s health has been really bad. I stand on Gods promises and pray for my son and family, but am getting such nasty counter attacks. I will never give up praying for lost souls..I am so blessed and grateful that I have salvation..that God called me. How could I not interceed for others!

    In Christ

    Tanya

  16. Julie

    Tanya,

    Thank you for stopping by “God Is…” and for your encouraging words. I’m sorry it’s taken me several days to respond. I do want to also encourage you, though. It sounds like God is doing a mighty work in your life, and you are to be commended for your faithful stance. I will pray that satan has no power over any of your circumstances and that only God will receive the glory from the end result of each one.

    May you keep lifting your eyes to our Father in these tough times.

    Many blessings,

    Julie

Leave a Reply

