Not Spam.

 

Since my last post was about WordPress and the wonderful stats page showing search engine terms, etc., I thought it would also be fun to show you a little about the “Spam Catcher” aka Askismet.

WordPress has the capability to capture spammed comments sent to your blog.  It stores them and allows you to review and delete them before they are used to inundate posts with unnecessary comments.

What is funny about most of them to me is that   THEY MAKE NO SENSE WHATSOEVER!!!

When  you read most of them, it seems to be groups of words thrown together that make no sense at all.

 For instance, here is one I received today: 

“Hay!!! best link for you to good night a resource is a class !!! if yet admin replied to letter which I wrote him much scorched tem here spam all right I went away to meeting”

Ha, Ha! and….Ha!    See what I mean?  It is hilarious to read them 🙂  I don’t think if I was the “admin” that I would reply to his letter either!! lol

so….let’s turn this post into something worth reading!…

The bible teaches that those who are not saved do not know the things of God.  It is foreign to them.  When we attempt to “save” other people, it is in vain without the work of the Holy Spirit.  It is only God who brings his children to Him. 

Still….knowing this, we are under obligation to try.  Our commandment is to,

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”  Matthew 28:19-20

This was not given as an option.  It is our mission.  It is our ministry.  Everyone.  Every Christian –in every city –in every country –in the whole world.

 The Holy Spirit takes our words, small or mighty, and transforms them into a language that is understandable to the heart. 

Whether you are used to sharing the gospel message or not, God can use you to influence the eternity of others.  Our “spam” becomes the greatest, most understandable story ever told.  We just have to be willing to share it.  Are you?

5 Comments

Filed under Bible, Blogging, Church, Commitment, Faith, Family, Father, God, Grace, Heaven, Joy, Life, Love, Mercy, Obedience, Priorities, Witness

5 responses to “Not Spam.

  1. Is that the way you hear me when I am talking to you. I see!
    Good post. You scared me though, I thought we might be having spam tonight. Love Ya!

  2. Kenneth,

    Surprise, you are having Spam tonight. Julie just needed to soften you up first. Hey, it isn’t bad fried on a piece of bread with a couple of fresh tomatos; ummmmmm, are you hungry yet?

    Oh yeah, good post Julie. Pretty savvy.

  3. Surprise, Kenneth. You are having Spam tonight. Julie just needed to soften you up first. Hey, it’s not bad fried on a piece of whole wheat bread and a couple of fresh tomato slices. Ummmm, are you hungry yet? Oh yeah, Julie, great post!

  4. Julie

    Yummm Yummm
    S – Specially
    P- Processed
    A-And
    M-Modified “Meat” (At least we THINK it’s meat?!)

  5. Kim

    Did someone say SPAM? Blech! My grandfather used to fry that stuff! It smoked up the whole kitchen.

    Thanks Julie for your note back to me! I really appreciate you taking the time to drop me a note. I actually had already been to your space as Dale had passed it along to me 🙂 I enjoyed it very much. I would be very interested in reading that book – just let me know how I can retrieve it. Also – congratulations on becoming a Pastor’s wife! I’ve known you and Kenneth for years and I was not surprised at all that you’ve been called into the ministry.

    Take care and God Bless! If you ever need help over at Purtis Creek with anything you think I can help with, just let me know. I’d be happy to do it!

    Kim

Leave a Reply

