Still God.

For some unknown reason, I am in a state of mind that is just ….?….(I am even unable to put words to adequately describe it).

There is so much spinning around me that I am unable to grasp ahold of anything fully and devote myself to it. 

I feel like either satan is attacking, and/or God is speaking, and am unsure of how to answer. 

“Is it me, Lord?  Is it me that is entertaining selfish desires or doubts?  Am I wrong to feel so disconnected with what is going on in one direction, yet such a connection with another?” 

“Or…Is it You, Lord?  Are You telling me that I need to take notice?” 

Earthly speaking….nothing is making sense.  Half of me is wondering if I am just “PMS-ng”  (sorry guys!).  Still….I just can’t shake it and sit here wondering what the answer is.

I am glad that God is….Still God.  I know that He is in control, and will reveal the answer.  It’s just so miserable in the “inbetween”.

“There is a way that seems right to a man, But its end is the way of death”

Proverbs 14:12

“Lord, keep me on Your path”

 

“Wisdom is found on the lips of him who has understanding”

Proverbs 10:13

“Lord, give me understanding”

 

“Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression, But a good word makes it glad.”

Proverbs 12:25

“Lord, give me a good word”

 

“The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life, And he who wins souls is wise.” 

Proverbs 11:30

“Lord, make me wise”

 

9 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Church, Commitment, Faith, Father, God, Grace, Prayer, Priorities, Reputation, Stress, Tears, Trials, Wisdom

9 responses to “Still God.

  1. Buddy

    Julie,

    Here is a one for meditation found in Proverbs 3:5-6:

    ” Trust in the LORD with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
    in all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make your paths straight.”

  2. Julie

    Thanks, Buddy.

  3. eclexia

    In the midst of my anxieties, Your comforts delight my soul.
    Psalm 94:19
    God has given me peace and joy, sometimes without ever removing the anxiety. I don’t always understand it. But I have seen Him come and meet me right there IN the anxiety and sadness and pain and depression, and help me walk through it in a way that is very different from how I would have walked through those things without Him. (Actually without Him I probably would have given up rather than walked through). I know we think it looks more spiritual to not be depressed or anxious. However, I think there is a way in which He is glorified and testimony is given when we do continue to walk faithfully in spite of depression, anxiety, uncertainty and sadness.

    I’m not absolutely sure about this. It is one of the main things I am thinking through on my blog, under the category “On Being Sad” (in a very wordy way–it takes a lot of words for me to make sense of all that rumbles around inside of me).

  4. Julie

    Eclexia,

    Thanks for the encouragement, and for stopping by “God Is…” I would love to visit your site, but didn’t see a link on your comment.

    If there’s one thing I know it’s that I don’t want to just “look spiritual”. I have learned that a real Christian experiences ups and downs in life, and we should use those as a testimony of God’s faithfulness.

    This particular time in my life, I pray, will also become a witness for His guidance. I am just praying that my feeble self will respond ONLY as He directs. (Sometimes I don’t always make the right decision!?! 😉

    Hope you come back again,

    Julie

  5. eclexia

    My website is at: http://eclexia.wordpress.com/
    I’ll warn you ahead of time that I’m not nearly as efficient with words as you are.
    I like your sweet spirit on your blog (and I hope you aren’t one of those people who are offended by the adjective “sweet”! I mean it in the very best way–sweetly reflecting the image and heart of God.)

  6. “For some unknown reason….”
    Julie,
    Maybe this is too “counselerish” of me (I’m not one, by the way), but your daughter off to school and a change of ministry, well those seem like things that your down and out feeling would be a normal reaction to. Maybe Satan is attacking or maybe God is speaking, but maybe this just IS a confusing, down and out time.

    And the best way, I find, to make it through those times is not to try to figure out how much is God’s voice and how much is spiritual warfare, but cling tightly to God and rest as much as you can. Because, as you cling tightly to the Lord, He’ll make it clear if you need to hear something. And He’ll make it clear if you are to be fighting and actively resisting Satan in this situation. But, I think we (okay I) wear ourselves out trying to figure it out instead of riding along the waves that hit us–trusting, clinging and resting in Jesus.

    I wonder if He gets more glory than we could ever imagine when we choose, as you have, to continue to trust in the “miserable in between” times. Forgive me if I’m being too presumptuous here.

  7. Julie, we must have been on the same page at the same time…
    and when it all comes down to it, the answer truly is that no matter what we face, God IS still God and we can trust Him!
    For “though we are faithless still He is always faithful “and He will see us through whatever life brings our way.

    I am really enjoying your posts tonight…

    Blessings to you dear sister, and the joy of the Lord!

    Susan

  8. charles

    I was just web surfing tonight and found your post. I don’t think you have anything to worry about. He is still GOD and he is coming for his people! No doubt about it. When your spiritual bottom falls out from under you, guess what…there he is in your time of need. Jesus did say I will send the comforter, and that means till the end of time. He is God, and we have nothing to worry about on a spiritual level although we may go through physical and emotional pain.

    Sounds like high estrogen to me. lol Take Care.

    Chas

  9. Julie

    Charles,

    Thanks for the encouragement, and for stopping by “God Is…”. My
    “spiritual bottom” finally lifted (praise the Lord), and God reminded me once again that all is well 🙂

    Hope you’ll come back to visit again.
    God Bless you and yours,

    Julie

Leave a Reply

