Mathematical.

How many math buffs do we have out there?  Do you remember when your high school teacher explained that the algebra, geometry, and calculus you were learning was going to be very useful after graduation in the “real world”?!  ha ha  Ok….SOME of it is, right?!

As a banker, I used quite a bit of math.   As a homemaker, I find that it is equally practical.  I now add and count to 2 every time I match socks, subtract hours of missed sleep, multiply one chicken into five meals, and am learning to divide my time between four children, a husband, extended family, and many wonderful friends. 

Word problems are when my five year old comes home from school sharing his new-found vocabulary!  Then, there’s the constant search for the missing equation….the need for more time to make the triangle between the grocery store, Wal-Mart, and the donut shop! 

I constantly work on figuring out how to inspire the high school girls in my Sunday School class to spend even a fraction of their time reading their bible each week.  Since I never have time to bake, I figure that “pi” is found in the bakery department, but….I have most importantly learned that the common denominator is my morning cup of coffee (and my Lord, of course)!

How about that?…Our teachers WERE right!  Math is important, and is used in pretty much everything we do!  God also uses math to teach us life lessons —He is mathematical in His admonition to grow in faith. 

So…for a while, I will be posting the answer to the following equation:

 (  + v  + k  + sc  + p  + G  + bk  + l) = (F x 2)

It will be a series of 10 posts based upon a biblical example of the growth we should all be experiencing in our walk with Christ.  Because of time constraints, I will probably have to extend it over several weeks, but will post as often as I can.  

In the meantime, I pray that God will prepare your heart and mind to apply the practical, everyday math He so divinely presents to us in His Word. 

“Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord, as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue, by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.”  2 Peter 1:2-4     

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Children, Church, Commitment, Family, Friends, God, Grace, Heaven, Identity, Love, Math, Mercy, Obedience, Priorities, Success, Wisdom

4 responses to “Mathematical.

  1. Very good post, and I like the new look I might add. See ya tonight, Josh

  2. Kari

    Looking forward for things to come!! I like the new design!

  3. Great blog! Can’t wait fo the rest of the story.

    Like the new look.

  4. dramaqweenpk

    Interesting. I like that perspective! I don’t despise Math nearly as much now. 😉

    You could market this concept to Christian School Math teachers to maybe, just maybe hold students (like me back in the day) attention and focus!

    I look forward to what else you have for us!

Leave a Reply

