A Bump on the Head.

I know…..you’re saying, “God Is….A Bump on the Head?”  You probably think I am losing “it”, huh?!!  Well, I probably did 🙂  Probably because tonight I received a big BANG on my forehead, compliments of a falling pizza stone!! 

I was reaching up to the top kitchen cabinet, which is above my head, and as soon as I opened the door, the stone came rolling out and landed on my forehead.  I barely even saw it coming, and then after it hit, I could not believe that it didn’t just knock me out completely?! 

To understand the frame of what was left of my mind at the time, you have to understand that the stone was large and round –15 inches in diameter, made from the finest of clay, and very heavy.  There was no escaping!

Now that I have had a few hours to regain my composure, I want to share with you why I probably needed this to happen…

For about an hour before the “rolling stone” incident (ha ha), I was engulfed in spiritual despair.  At about 5:00 p.m. tonight, as I was getting ready for choir practice, my son collapsed into his 16th febrile seizure. 

Thankfully, it was not a violent one, and only lasted about two minutes, but it came at a time when I had just been proclaiming victory over his illness.  Strangely enough, one of my first thoughts after it happened was, “I shouldn’t have blogged about it”, because my previous blog, “God Is…Holding Brett” was just written a few days before.  It was as if I had not blogged about it, then maybe he wouldn’t be having another one!!?  But….I know that’s not true.

Still…it is just so frustrating watching your son in such a helpless and fragile state….so frustrating that you can’t do anything about it…and, so frustrating that when we had gone so long without one, here it is again? 

The worst part of this, though, was my response.  How quickly we change from being publicly and spiritually victorious when things are “right”, to being defeated when things go “wrong”!  I sunk right into that frame of mind.  I turned my eyes away from God in the midst of my agony over continued seizures, and momentarily forgot to stand on my faith in Him.  (I’m sorry, Lord.) 

Now…after “regrouping” my thoughts, I realize that there are still praises to be made.  My son is still with us.  He actually was semi-conscious during this seizure, responding to several things I asked of him during the episode.  (Something new and wonderful because all of the other seizures were pretty violent and he was non-responsive.) 

My bump on the head really hurt, but is serving a purpose in reminding me of God’s hand, still holding onto Brett, taking care of him and blessing our family another time. 

I am reminded of 2 Corinthians 4:7-9, “But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us.  We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed…”

We have to remember that the war has already been won, and Jesus Christ is the victorious One!  Whatever the circumstance, I pray that God will allow you a “bump” on the head — just like mine, if that’s what it takes, to keep us focused on things above, instead of our problems below! 

…just don’t make fun of my bruise when you see me! (ouch!) 

2 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Blessings, Children, Church, Commitment, Family, Febrile Seizure, Gifts, God, Grace, Heaven, Humor, Life, Mercy, Resolutions, Trials, Wisdom

2 responses to “A Bump on the Head.

  1. I have a pizza stone like that…. somewhere. Actually I think I loaned it to someone. I think your “rolling stone” incident may be a reminder for us… that no matter what comes our way, nothing is impossible for our God. After all, He rolled away another stone for us some 2000 years ago! Wear that bruise proudly! -rj

  2. I’m sorry…as I was reading this today I realized that you started to share this story with me last night a DQ and then something kept us from finishing the conversation…could it have been kids?!!! Hummmmm…anyway. I’m grateful to get to read about what God is doing in your life. As mothers it is difficult to get to share some of the deeper things going on…there are always so many things bidding for our attention when we are together!
    I just wanted to let you know that I am encouraged by what you share and the way you submit yourself to Christ! Thank you for being a good friend and encourager in the Lord!

Leave a Reply

