Audible.

I implore you to just say it…. 

“I am a Christian!  — I’ve been bought with the blood of my Savior, Jesus Christ, and I am going to live in heaven with Him through all eternity!”

I implore you to say it to yourself, to your spouse/loved one, to each of your children, to your Mom, to your Dad, to each one of your siblings, to your close friends, to your church family, to your coworkers…to every person you know and love, and even those you don’t! 

The reason I am so adamant about this is this:

I look at the calendar and realize that it is nearing the 14th anniversary of my Dad’s death.  He died at the age of 50 in 1993.  I loved my Dad more than I could ever say.  When he died, it just left an empty hole in my heart that hurts even now as I think about it.  For almost a year after his death, as I drove home from work everyday, even the thought of it would send me into enough tears that I would have to pull over and just cry for a while.  I was a “Daddy’s Girl”, and I’m not sure that I ever realized that so much until I lost him. 

He taught me many things, one of which was to love the outdoors.  I could shoot a can from a tree at a fair distance with my BB gun at the age of six!  He took me fishing, deer hunting, and even spent three weeks camping through Colorado as a pre-teen.  He protected me from the bad, and showed me what he knew was good.  He used outdoor creations to teach me life’s lessons…..all without giving credit to the Creator. 

He did not teach me about a relationship with Christ.  He spent most of my life running from the Lord.  I even remember him patting me on the back, saying, “I’m so sorry that your Mom makes you go to church all the time”.  Yet, even during those times, my heart ached to know that He would turn his life around.

It wasn’t until he became a grandfather that, I believe, God began grabbing hold of his face, and pointing him toward the important things of life.  He finally quit drinking, and even began the process to quit smoking.  However, it was then that he found out about the lung cancer. 

During his brief illness, I longed to know if he felt he had even known Christ at all, since the fruits of his life proved otherwise.  I heard that he made a profession of faith as a teenager, but never knew anything that led me to know for sure. 

Unfortunately, I was too scared to talk to him about it!  Imagine that!….too scared to talk about the most important thing that could ever come out of my mouth!…the thing that would have helped my Dad the most!!?  I finally got the courage up to write him a letter, including everything I ever knew about witnessing for the Lord.  I must have sounded like a tele-evangelist as I poured my heart out to him that last Christmas when I gave him the letter.  It was just a little over 2 months before he died. 

I saw him read it, but he never talked to me about it.  We were finally able to contact the preacher that he trusted years ago as a teenager, who came up to the hospital and talked with Daddy.  The preacher later told us that Dad did acknowledge a relationship with the Lord, but knew that he had failed to live as he should. 

That was somewhat comforting, but what I really yearned to hear was the voice of my OWN Dad telling me that.  I think that is why I, even still, ache inside……not hearing those words from him myself.  It pains me greatly to think of the possibility that my Dad is suffering in hell right now. 

I wish I could rest on the words of that preacher, but not knowing for sure, I have resolved myself to just not think about it too much.  That is the only way I know to accept my Dad’s death…to just push it aside and pray that somehow, God brought him to Him before he took his last breath.  Until I know for sure….this is how I must deal with it.

But……the message I want to get out now is this:  Tell your loved ones that you are saved.  Don’t just assume that they know it.  Live your life for Christ in deed AND words!  It is so important that you SAY it with your own mouth!  Spare your family and friends from wondering. 

“Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, to which you were also called, and have confessed the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.”  1 Timothy 6:12

God graciously reminds me everyday that He is with me.  He has helped me through these 14 years, becoming more and more my “Daddy” as well as my Father.  He shows me daily that He will be with me for eternity. 

Just the presence of his creations, remind me of His love.  As I sit at this computer today, I am hearing His presence.  The beautiful spring-like day; the singing birds, the peaceful sound of quiet.  He is audible.  He speaks his assurance of life to me.  He tells me, out loud, that He loves me and will be with me forever. 

I encourage you to do the same.  Don’t let another day go by without telling your family, with words, that you will be seeing them in heaven some day.  Prayerfully, I will be able to introduce my Dad to you when we all get there, too.

7 Comments

Filed under Bible, Children, Church, Creation, Death, Family, Father, Friends, Gifts, God, Heaven, Life, Love, Priorities, Security, Tears, Wisdom, Witness

7 responses to “Audible.

  1. What a powerful reminder of the importance of sharing Christ. There are so many scary things about sharing my faith with people…but none scarier than what could happen if I don’t share it! Thanks for being real and sharing your struggles. I hope to meet your dad someday!

  2. This is going to sound odd but on the way to work this morning I was thinking about how people wait until something tragic happens before they actually take life into consideration. Mine was my accident, for some its a death, for others its the loss of a job.

    For some reason God has to use these hard times in our lives to kick us in the rear and get us thinking past our noses and our wants to really have us look at why we are here, and are we really doing the job wants us to do.

    My heart is heavy for you, and I know that there really no true assurance for you, but it also makes me think of the verse that says that many said that they knew him, and didn’t. God is the only one that truly knows our hearts and the hearts of others.

    Through pain and even uncertainty you can praise the One that has given you certainty and hope. Struggle and let Him strengthen you, hurt and let Him heal you, worry and let Him comfort you.

    You are loved more than you’ll ever know!

  3. “I am a Christian! — I’ve been bought with the blood of my Savior, Jesus Christ, and I am going to live in heaven with Him through all eternity!”

  4. ANNA

    This hits to close to home with the feelings about my mother’s death 12 years ago and the not knowing for certain because I too was scared and did not know how she was going to respond when I asked her to pray with me…it has become easier to just not think about it, so I thought as I find myself sitting here with tears rolling down my face. I can not beleive I am doing this!!!!

  5. Man…mom….why did you have to blog about this? I have 3 and 4 year olds coming up to me wanting to know why I’m crying…..

    And in case you didn’t know……I am a Christian, bought with the blood of Jesus, who had so much compassion for my dirty self that he wanted me to be saved. He chose me….I didn’t choose Him….and He is still working on cleansing my life each day.

  6. I Love You! Thanks for keeping me motivated to share. Yes, and family is the hardest to shre with.
    It is not I who lives, but Christ in me. May we all die to self, forget this world, and drag as many as we can to heaven with us before the Lord comes to take us home.

  7. Julie… you’ve brought to mind for all of us family or friends who have left this world without making it clear what their relationship is with our Savior. Some might say “who’s business is it anyway? ..this is a private matter between the indiviual and God” As you’ve so well, our responsibility as believers is to share with others what Christ has done for us.

    Jer 51:10 The exiles from Judah will say, ‘The Lord has brought about a great deliverance for us! Come on, let’s go and proclaim in Zion what the Lord our God has done!’

    Dan 9:14 The LORD was mindful of the calamity, and he brought it on us. For the LORD our God is just in all he has done, and we have not obeyed him.

    Thank you for the wake-up call and a challenge to make know to everyone our traveling plans for eternity. May we be so excited about heaven that others will ask how to get in touch with our travel agent!

    “I am a Christian! — I’ve been bought with the blood of my Savior, Jesus Christ, and I am going to live in heaven with Him through all eternity!”

Leave a Reply

