Weeping.

“How long has it been,

since your eyes filled with tears,

over those who are lost out in sin?”

This is the words to a song sung by one of my favorite groups, The Rochesters.  It came to mind this morning as I was watching Animal Planet

There was a story about a man who had a heart for the street kids of an inner city neighborhood.  He was known for walking the streets, witnessing to any who would listen.  He eventually took in an abused and abandoned dog, nursing it back to health, and then took it along with him on his walks. 

He came upon a teenage boy who was hurting and living a life of horrible circumstances.  He told the boy about the tragic story of the dog, then about its’ rescue, recovery, and hope.  He then explained that the boy could be rescued too, because Jesus heals our hurt and loneliness.  After accepting an invitation to attend a local church that night, the teenager was saved, and is working to turn his life around. 

As I looked at the boy’s eyes, I could see the sincerity of his new-found faith.  I could sense the hurt he experienced.  I began to really understand how lonely he has been since his father passed away, leaving him to take care of himself.  Then, I started getting a lump in my throat, and before I knew it, the tears began to fall.  It was at that moment, that God reminded me that I had not wept for a soul in a while. 

Tears for a soul are the result of an understanding of what is awaiting us…either eternal life, or horrible death…and the further understanding that some just have not “gotten it”.  Either they haven’t heard the gospel, or they have ignored it.  Either way, the tears are a representation that someone is going to face the consequences of hell…and when you know what the consequences are, you are grieved for your friends and family even more…

…Then he said, “I beg you therefore, father, that you would send him to my father’s house, for I have five brothers, that he may testify to them, lest they also come to this place of torment.”  Luke 16:27-28

I am convicted today that I need to weep more.  I pray that God will use me to make known the alternative to death, …the hope that is in Christ Jesus, my Savior, …One that I should want to share more with those around me. 

I pray for more tears, and a heart to stay down on my knees in constant agony for souls.  I pray that I will stay that way until God, Himself, wipes away my tears (Revelation 21:4) and declares the work to be done.   

1 Comment

Filed under Attitude, Bible, Church, Commitment, Family, Friends, Gifts, God, Heaven, Life, Love, Obedience, Priorities, Tears

One response to “Weeping.

  1. Micky

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

Leave a Reply

