Five.

2302.jpg  

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.” Psalm 127:3

Awaking to the sound of running footsteps, my son came to my side of the bed, climbed up, giving me a big hug and proclaiming, “Momma, Momma…..today is my Birthday!”  “Momma, I’m FIIIVVVVEEE!”  “Momma, Momma, I’m Five!” 

The day that he had long awaited for was here!  There is something wonderful about being five….just something that seems to take a child from the toddler stage to being a “big boy”.  He has been waiting for this day for a long time. 

The parental phrase, “It’s hard to believe that it’s been five years” came to my mind.  You know, the moment when we all stop to reflect on “that” day….the day your child entered the world.

It all started when my daughter’s friends decided to “fork” our yard.  (For those of you who have never heard of “forking”….it is the nicer version of “papering” and much less messy 🙂  February 2, 2002 at about 10:00 p.m., we noticed something weird sticking up out of the grass on our front lawn.  After closer examination, we discovered that someone had quietly stuck what seemed like 4 gazillion plastic forks into the ground throughout our whole front yard!  It was quite a sight!  So much so, that my labor pains began shortly around 11:00 p.m.  We told my daughter’s friends that it was the “forking” that started the whole thing!

We had 60 miles to travel to the hospital, so we didn’t wait around.  A few hours later, at 5:58 a.m., on February 3, 2002, our first son entered the world!  It was a glorious occasion! 

And now, he’s “FIVE, Momma”…so proud of being a “big boy” who can pour his own juice, make his own peanut butter sandwich and even complete single digit math problems.  I am so proud to be his “Momma”! 

If you have a minute to comment, can I ask you to please join me in wishing my son a Happy 5th Birthday?

10 Comments

Filed under Birth, Birthday, Children, Family, God

10 responses to “Five.

  1. dad

    Happy Birthday

    The Big 05

    I am so proud of you!

  2. Happy Birthday “Big Boy”. You know if we were in Mexico , they would tell you that you can get married now that you know how to cook!!!
    By the way…I have 3 lovely daughters…jijijijiji!!!- Happy B-day, The Holt Family.

  3. Kari

    Happy birthday a day or two late!!!

  4. julieblack

    Cherie – You know….Kenneth and I are a firm believer in arranged marriages!! 🙂

  5. Happy Birthday to such a cool dude!!!

  6. craig

    Josh, Dad, Cherie, Holt girls, Kari and Buddy,
    Thank you for telling me Happy Birthday. I really liked your comments! For my birthday, I had a motorcycle cake that was super cool. Thank you for all the things that you done for my birthday! I love you, Craig

  7. Wow! Julie I am getting major hits from your site. I hope you are getting the same from mine. You know that sometimes if you want to respond to my post on your site and then leave a comment on my blog that will get you some hits sometimes. I do not know if it gets you more but it does work. You just don’t want to over do it some bloggers get mad 🙂 AHHHH The bloggers are mad! Run for your life, hide your archives!!!!!!! AHHHHHH 🙂

  8. Alrighty Craigster. Happy Birthday! You are one whole hand now. That has to count for a lot.

    Julie the more I hear you talk of parenting the more scared I get. I had this picture of my child running into my room early in the morning screaming and me getting a bat ready to take care of whatever craziness was going on.

    We love you guys and hope that you’re filled with lots of cake!

  9. Dale

    Hey Craig,

    Happy birthday man. I can’t believe you are getting so big! Sorry I’m late. I love you.

    Uncle Dale

Leave a Reply

