Speaking.

For 2007, I have resolved to reading through the bible.  I have read it through once before, but I’m ashamed to say how long it took, so this year I figured I needed some accountability!  So…I have been asking who might be interested in participating in an e:mail accountability/encouragement group to read through the bible, and I’m happy to report that we now have 12 members! 

What an encouragement it has been to hear some of the comments, questions, and revelations of our members!  We e:mail each other weekly with our thoughts.  Some of them have been:

“I am beginning Chapter 29 of Genesis this morning.  The only thing I’m going to say about this week’s reading is that God is good!  He specifically pointed out a particular section of scripture to guide me with something I have been unable to resolve.  I have been unsure how to handle a particular situation, and it was like God wrote these particular three verses for me.  It is good to know that He cares just as much for me as He did the people those many years ago, and I am humbled and honored that He would take care of this situation for me! “

“Hope everyone is having a blessed time reading through the Bible.  I’ve found that by reading it slow..it helps to better understand the scripture and God is able to reveal stuff to us when we aren’t in a hurry.  Imagine that?….If we’d just slow down….we might be able to hear God :)”

“Just the first 15 chapters have armed me w/more detailed info and I was very happy during Sunday school when I was able to explain some things the others weren’t aware of.”

“I think we may be going off of the bible “stories” instead of what is actually written in the Bible. Like the Christmas story – I gave the girls in my Sunday school class a quiz about the Christmas story – they all answered the same questions wrong. We then read what the Bible said and we saw that the story has been “added to” over time. Unfortunately, being a new Christian that has not read through the Bible, I have many of the stories in my head, but not much of the actual text”

“I honestly think that I will get alot more out of reading the Bible this way, especially with the help of you guys!!”

“…reading your comments are sure to help me as well.  I’m not the type of person that enjoys reading, but I’m finding it hard to stop and put it down..”

“I have never read the Bible from front to back either! I think 16 chapters in Genesis is a great start. I have found since joining this group and reading the comments from others it makes it so much easier to read. This has really been a blessing for me!”

” Praise the Lord, I think I’m finally learning to listen to what He has to say. I have already learned so much! And I have discovered things that I didn’t know before. Thank you all for joining this group. I look forward everyday to see if anyone has discovered anything new, or just to be in contact and be accountable to sisters in Christ.”

As you can see, this is sure to be a great thing!  God is speaking so clearly to each one of us through his Word, and we are all serving as encouragers to each other to be committed to bible study. 

I pray that you are also being faithful in reading your bible this year.  God has so much to say to us if we will just be still and listen long enough to hear. 

If you are interested, we would love to have you join our group!  

5 Comments

Filed under Bible, God, Resolutions

5 responses to “Speaking.

  1. jowiki

    Hey I really like your blog. It is very nice and well laid out. I am particularly crazy for how you can mouse over a link and see a snap shot of the website. Very cool!
    Well have fun blogging. I never got your email but I have had some hits from your site already I will have you up on mine in a few moments.

  2. julieblack

    thanks Josh! The snapshots ARE cool, huh?! I may need to get your technical support for a few things if you don’t mind!

  3. jowiki

    Whatever you need, just let me know. I will try my best to help you out. Rhonda and I figured out how to fix her website woes this morning so maybe we can work on yours.

  4. Isn’t that exciting? I try to read through the bible and it always takes me more than a year! I know that just getting a taste of it regularly just makes you crave it more. I’m totally behind on my last “program”. Its amazing though how what you read is just what you need at the time. Uh oh. The kids are enjoying themselves a little too much in the back of the house. Better go see what I’ll need to fix!!! Have a good day. Hope you don’t mind all the commenting. Always fun to find another mom online.

  5. You go you newbie you!! I ran across this by accident and have been browsing around your and Kenya’s blogs. They look like they are going to reach out and bless a lot of people.

    New revelation off some of the things I read in the comments. Learning the Bible in a whole new way like I’m doing this year, I’m hoping that strengthens me to be a stronger personal wittness to people and stand up with my testimony and blurt it out and no longer have shame because once you’re born again and cleansed-the past was just time spent trying to get it right!!! I love you guys and thanks for your friendship as well as all the hard work you do for the church and the community and still take care of your family!

Leave a Reply

